RSS Feed

Coupon craziness

image

image

image

image

One of the ways I save money is by using coupons.   I started couponing about 2 years ago and was loving it. My stock pile was growing and so was my coupon pile. I heard a bunch of different stories on how to organize coupons. My coupons soon outgrew my accordion binder thingie. I was putting them in envelopes and sticking them I’m a baby wipe container. That didn’t work well taking them into the store with 3 kids. And u can’t see your coupons inside white envelopes. It just wasn’t working. I was also dating and stacking my inserts and cutting as I go. That got confusing, overwhelming and messy. I had heard about the zper binder with baseball card pages but was too cheap to go out and buy stuff just to save money. I was couponing because I had to. Not because I was taking the amount I was savng on my grcery bill to put in a fund for a rainy day. (A lot of ppl coupon to save for something special. Vacation, car, ect.) I was getting coupons in the mail, from newspapers, peelies, blinkies, tear pads. Insde package boxes.  It became a huge mess and there were darn coupons everywhere!  I got tired of it and threw them all away.  Now once a couponer always a couponer. It was hard to grocery shop without them.  I cringe at the thought of paying full price for things.  I avoided shopping at all costs and would only make small trips here andthere.  Well those trips add up and my stock pile dissappeared.  I’m on my last free stick of deoderant and thought I needed to get organized and get back into the groove.  I broke down and spent $4 on baseball card insert pages.  I am using an old zipper binder of M’s (the rings are broken so I will need to buy a new one). I saved about 3 weeks of inserts and spent last Tuesday cutting them and puting them in the binder.  Wednesday I went through my sale ads, made a detailed list, and hit the stores.  Because it was the middle of the week a lot of the items on my list were out of stock.  And I should have grabbed rain checks, but since I’m a reborn coupon virgin I forgot.  :(  well I hit up rite aid, wal mart and giant eagle.  Drum roll……..  giant eagle: $5.01 ~ 2 oral b tooth brushes, 9 candy bars, jello pudding temptations, 5 sobe life waters, coffee creamer, and philly cooking creme
Rite aid: 3 transactions- 2 crest prohealth toothpaste $3.35. And 2 $2 up rewards. 5 sobe life waters. Used 1 $2 up reward from toothpaste and paid $1.80 oop. (Out of pocket) got $1 up reward. 8 robins egg bags. Used $1 up reward from sobe and paid .05. So I spent a total oop $5.20 and still have a $2 up reward from the toothpaste. And at walmart I ended up with a spic n span cleaner, travel deoderant and olay wash, 8 candy bars and 2 lunchables nd spent $1.49!!!  I can’t wait to go this week :) what do you do to save money? Do you have any cupon tips for me? Id love to hear your comments.

About I'm just crazy about Tiffany

I am your typicial, mini-van driving, caffine-head, suburban housewife. Who despises cleaning and cooking. I spend my days taking care of my 3 very active children. I love shopping and can't resist a good deal. I have a problem. I also like making hairbows and flowers and finding unique ways to decorate.

4 responses »

  1. Wow girly…you rock. Geo has been trying to get me to cut coupons for years but it’s always such a hassle. You have inspired me!

    Reply
  2. You are awesome! You have inspired me to start cutting coupons!

    Reply
  3. Please make sense of those extreme coupon reality shows for me.

    Who needs 39 bags of croutons?
    Doesn’t most of the stuff in those people’s stock piles expire before they use them?
    How do you survive with an actual stock of chocolate bars in the house without eating them all?

    And holy crap if only I could get organized enough to do this. I have 3 teenage daughters in my house. The millions I could save on tampons, deodorant, toilet paper and face wash alone!!!

    Reply
    • hello Jennifer June!!! :)
      Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting!! :) i heart new readers <3

      I honestly dont know how those extreme couponers do it. i saw one where a woman says all these cat treats free and we dont even have a cat!
      well whats the point, lady? i have 2! and maybe they would like some cat treats!!!

      my stock pile is laughable compared to them. i only buy what my family will use. i CAN NOT stand going into a store to find cleared shelves! and the chocolate bars, they were supposed to be used as rewards for the kids, but the hubs ate most of them. (while i had them, the kids were constantly trying to earn a chocolate bar lol, good as gold).

      it is very hard to get organized. for me it was. i still have yet to clean out my binder from last month and cut this months coupons. and its, well… the 14th!!! I dont always do coupon runs. not every day, or a couple times a week. maybe twice a month.

      Their are a lot of free websites you can use to help you get started. A lot of them do the hard work for you. I have some that I follow under my blogroll. Since I started using coupons, i have never had to pay for deoderant, tooth paste, tooth brush's, and feminine products. :) you would be suprised at how much free stuff their is out there girl. and those extreme people, their just freaks ;)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

