RSS Feed

A Tutorial, or Two. Felt Rosettes & Partially Lined Alligator Clip

After a busy few days, I’m finally making my first tutorial.  Yay!  With a ton of pictures.  Felt rosettes are so popular right now.  You can glue them on a clippie, decorate with them, use them as gift toppers, even put them on a pin.  I used mine for a clippie for my daughters. 

Supplies

  • square of felt
  • clippie
  • hot glue gun
  • glue
  • scizzors
  • pencil
  • ribbon (for lining clippie)
  • embelishments (if you want)

Pic basically showes the size of your square.

Use the pencil to round off your corners.  This is not a must, you can of course free hand it.

Of course you cut out the circle now.

Next, cut your circle into a spiral.  It will form a long strand of felt.  You will be left with a circle at the end. 

Finally, to make the rosette you roll your felt up starting from that skinny point at the end.  Not the circle end.

 That circle at the end, it covers the bottom of the rosette perfectly.

I cut out leaves for this tutorial.  Of course you don’t have to do that if you don’t want to.

 Now here it is glued.  See, you can’t even see the underside.  I love how finished it looks.  And it’s effortless.

Glue the leaves together, and glue them on the rosette underside. 

Now, lining the aligator clip is a no brainer, but I thought as long as I’m doing a tutorial, I’d throw it in, incase you need it.

I measure my ribbon by pinching it the entire length of the clip and wrapping it around the top to the underdiside just just enough to cover the area where you pinch the clip.  I hope I explained that well.  There are pics.  At the end I glue it all the way around.

Now the clip is glued onto the flower.  You can make several and cluster them.  Put them on a headband.  Embelish them if you’d like.  I used a single peral in the blue rosettes.  And now B will model several of them.

I hope you like my first tutorial and have fun making these little lovlies.  :)

About I'm just crazy about Tiffany

I am your typicial, mini-van driving, caffine-head, suburban housewife. Who despises cleaning and cooking. I spend my days taking care of my 3 very active children. I love shopping and can't resist a good deal. I have a problem. I also like making hairbows and flowers and finding unique ways to decorate.

2 responses »

  1. JEANNETTE STEER

    how cute – maybe I can make this when I have some grandbabies! j

    Reply

Leave a Reply

