RSS Feed

The Boy

My son.  Maxtin Jayse.  He is better than anything I could ever have asked for.  He has my heart.  

I wound up pregnant at 17.  Scared and ashamed.  I felt very alone during that time.  When he arrived on October 24th, 2000 I was overwhelmed with love and pride.  I had my son.  My baby boy.  I vividly remember those days when he was a little babe.  He was the sweetest, happiest and cutest little guy ever.  I miss those days a lot.  It was a struggle.  I worked part-time and went to college part-time.  Everyone loved him.  Having a supportive family made it easier.  When he was a preschooler we moved out of mom and dads and got our own apartment.  Those days were a treasure.  I was still working part-time.  But by this time I left college.  We spent our time together playing, reading, learning.  I couldn’t afford cable then, so we spent a lot of quality time together.  He was the smartest little kid I’d ever known.  And the most beautiful. Everywhere we went someone was giving me a compliment on him.  When I found out I was pregnant with B my biggest fear was not having enough love to share.  I soon discovered that love does not divide, it grows.  My son is a big brother to 2 little girls.  And a fantastic one. 

They fight.  A lot.  Mostly, he teaches them, and protects them.  He does what they want to do.  And most of the time will let them choose what to watch.  He is very tender, tucking his little sisters into bed each night.  And they love him more than anything.  
 

He’s a smart kid.  Smarter than I even know why.  I struggled in school very early on.  He gets Honor roll every quarter.  He brings home a lot of A’s.  My refrigerator is cluttered.  He loves reading.  He read 9 books for the month of March and wrote a report for each one.  He was richly was rewarded by his teacher, and proud of his achievement.  It fascinates me he enjoys a good book so much.  He has 2 A’s and 2 B’s right now.  He’s so bright.  I couldn’t be more proud of my boy.

He’s an athlete.  And he’s a good one too.  With a fantastic group of friends.  I’m proud of his outgoing attitude.  Not like me at all. He plays football, basketball, and baseball.

I love being his #1 fan.

He got to go to the symphony today with his class.  He was excited, because I used to play violin.  But tried to play it cool because he was asked to dress up.  Cool, 10-year-old athletes don’t dress up.  According to him.  This was the best I could do.  It was a compromise.  He got to pick out the pants and I got to pick out his shirt.  I couldn’t get him into khakis.  I tried.  But he looks pretty darn handsome to me.

We absolutely have a special bond.  We watched each other grow up in a way.  I love my boy so much.  He is one of my greatest gifts.  Perfect in every way.  I miss my baby boy.  But I am so proud of the young man he is becoming. 

I love you my sweet boy.  With all of my heart.

Love,   Mommy

About I'm just crazy about Tiffany

I am your typicial, mini-van driving, caffine-head, suburban housewife. Who despises cleaning and cooking. I spend my days taking care of my 3 very active children. I love shopping and can't resist a good deal. I have a problem. I also like making hairbows and flowers and finding unique ways to decorate.

6 responses »

  1. That was so sweet! now that you have tears running down my face. i love you both so much! and am very proud of you. you are doing a great job tiffany (being a mommy)

    Reply
  2. JEANNETTE STEER

    love this – my baby turns 21 this sunday – what would we do without our babies?

    Reply
  3. Why do I always need a tissue when I read your blog?
    That was the sweetest post EVER!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

